Vintage Embroidered Pillowcases

I bought a set of pillowcases for $1 each at the thrift store.  They aren’t quite plain; they are stamped with a sweet design of a girl in a heart of flowers.

One of the reasons I think the pillowcases are vintage is that the fabric looks old and  feels like 100% cotton.  The pillowcases don’t have any tags, and the inside seams look different from modern cases.  The style of the design also looks like it’s from the 1950s or 60s.

What floss colors would you use?  I got out all my variegated pinks for the flowers.

I put tissue paper between the hoop halves to protect the fabric, and then tore it away from the center.

I embroidered back stitches, lazy daisies, and french knots.

I decided on a single ply black thread for the outline of her skin.  While I was stitching her, I thought she looked like a lamb with hooves.

I had a little bit of what knitters call second sock syndrome after finishing the first.  I changed the color of her dress for the second one.

 

Tastes have changed since these were sold. Do these pretty ladies have a place in the modern world?  I admit that I folded the pillowcases and stored them away after finishing them.

Would they still be considered vintage even though they’re newly embroidered?

Save

2 thoughts on “Vintage Embroidered Pillowcases

  1. KerryCan

    I have a number of projects like this, waiting to be embroidered. I like the idea of working on vintage fabrics and designs but, you’re right, some of the designs are very dated. Your stitching looks beautiful!

    Reply
  2. Stitch It Again Post author

    Thank you – they have their charm but I wasn’t in a hurry to get to them either. I had them for a year, and was rearranging my fabrics and decided to give it a go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

