Twas the week before Christmas

Twas the week before Christmas;

The tree was put up

And decorated with ornaments made by my hands.

Knitted socks, felt socks, and little knitted bears,

Rustic cloth stars, and cinnamon stars with a sharp scent.

A few cross stitched scenes thrown in as well,

With a burlap and poinsettia wreath on the inside front door.

What’s left to do?

Well,  I took out 7 tree blocks left from the quilt of last winter,

7 tree blocks

Arranged them with patchwork and red piping so bright,

backing and cord for piping

And made something new with an idea long in mind.

I pieced and hand quilted while music was playing,

batting back hand quilting tree blocks

Enjoying the process, the making, the peace,

tree patchwork

Away from the hustle and bustle that comes with the season.

clove entrusted oranges

I finished in time, the details will come later,

I haven’t the time to hone a new post.

The rain stopped and the dog put his head up

To howl and to tell me “Let’s go for a walk”.

dog-at-work-hardhat

dog-at-work1

Before I go, let me stop and say:

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and a

Happy New Year to all!

(My apologies to Clement Moore)

Save

Save

4 thoughts on “Twas the week before Christmas

  1. KerryCan

    Such a fun post–and what a nice, relaxing day you had! Love seeing the pomanders and hearing about all the handmade ornaments you’ve got. And the outfit on the dog–that makes my day! Happy holidays!

    Reply
    1. Stitch It Again Post author

      Guess where I got the idea for the pomanders? After reading your post I thought – I have to try that! So I picked 3 little oranges from the backyard tree. Thank you for the idea.
      The outfit is his rain gear, but the “hardhat” doesn’t stay on for very long. Happy Holidays!

      Reply
    1. Stitch It Again Post author

      I got the outfit for $1 at a garage sale up the street. I think it was a Halloween outfit, but I thought it would make Sparky a good raincoat. He is at work when he wears it – he’s out to do his “business”. Merry Christmas!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

