A Walk in Springtime

Springtime is my favorite time of year to take my daily walks in the neighborhood.  I always have my phone in my pocket and often take photos.  Come along with me.

The florals are in bloom.   The hardy bougainvillea and California poppies grace many yards.

The jacaranda trees are especially beautiful while in bloom in May.

jacaranda sun (800x544)

jacaranda 16(800x480)

While one jacaranda in bloom is beautiful, a row of them lining a street is spectacular.  They leave a colorful carpet on the sidewalk and street.  Some say these trees are too messy, but I think they’re glorious.  In all fairness I must admit I don’t have one to clean up after.

jacaranda carpet (800x480)

With all this springtime floral inspiration, I have also turned to my stash to do some sewing with florals.

We’ve all seen lost cat signs, but I was very surprised when I saw a lost drone sign for the first time.  I hope the “skiddish” cat was found.

Some signs I don’t enjoy seeing are election signs.  California has its primary in June, and suddenly signs for mayor and city counsel appeared. There are no competing signs in my neighborhood; they are all for the same two candidates.

My dog has his own encounters when we walk.  I noticed soon after I got him that he is a “cat magnet”.  Cats will walk right up to him and go nose to nose.  The first time I was worried but now I’m used to it.  I wonder how the cats know which dog to approach.

Sparky BlkCat(800x480)

These incredibly tall palm trees were probably planted around the time the neighborhood began in the 1950’s, and I was used to seeing them on the corner. I’m glad I captured this picture, because they disappeared shortly after.  The sky and I miss them.

3palms(800x478)

I love the long days. When the day starts to wind down, it’s time to look at the colors in the sky.

sunset(800x480)

 

sunsetscene2 (800x480)

What do you see when you walk in your part of the world?

 

4 thoughts on “A Walk in Springtime

  1. KerryCan

    Oh, it’s sad that those palm trees are gone–they were fabulous! You’re seeing a lot more blooms than we are yet but spring is here and the world is that pretty yellow-green only apparent in early growth. And how nice that your dog is so appealing to cats! The cats must have a sixth sense for that.

    Reply
    1. Stitch It Again Post author

      That must have been an epic job taking those palms down! They were behind a wooden fence, and the only sign that anything happened was I noticed 2 new unpainted boards that had been replaced.

      Reply
  2. seweverythingblog

    Awww. The palm trees were spectacular. Maybe they could have taken their fence around the trees….
    Your photos are gorgeous. Can’t get over the bougainvillea

    Reply

Leave a Reply

