Making Piping for Embellishment

I embroidered two little pieces last summer: one freehand and the other cross stitch.

Dachshund Embroidery on Linen Blend

The dachshund was embroidered with stem stitch and french knots on a linen and cotton blend fabric from a thrifted item of clothing.  I added two fabrics as a log cabin type border, cotton batting, and hand quilted stitches with embroidery floss.  dachshund embroidery with border ws The previously purchased piping on the left had a much narrower diameter than I wanted, so I made piping from 1/8 cord that I bought from the grocery store.  I followed this tutorial from Deby of So Sew Easy.

Cord for making piping    The fabric strip is cut on the bias, and then the cord is encased by stitching with a zipper foot.

sewing piping on pillow frontThe piping is basted in place before the final step when it is sewn between the layers of fabric, turned, and stuffed. The end result is a sweet little piped pillow.

dachshund pillow finished

 

I liked this scene from the book “Decorative Cross Stitch Borders”, which I have in my library.

When I started stitching the design on 28 count linen, I didn’t like the very tiny head on the girl, so I started making changes.

Head of Girl as Charted

I ended up with this somewhat altered, tranquil scene.

Swan Girl Cross Stitch in Hoop

I added a frame of yo-yos.

Arranging yo-yos on embroideryI made a flat finish, and added blue piping.

I think the piping adds a striking finishing touch to both pieces.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Making Piping for Embellishment

  1. KerryCan

    It’s quite amazing, the difference the piping makes! It seems like such little thing but it definitely makes both pieces seem more finished. And they both turned out just great!

    Reply
    1. Stitch It Again Post author

      Thanks – it’s an easy sewing technique. I see many little cross stitch pieces finished with twisted thread but I don’t have that gadget so I gave the piping a try.

      Reply
    1. Stitch It Again Post author

      I like that you called them rosettes; they do look like little flowers. The English call them Suffolk Puffs, and Americans call them yo-yos. It was my first time making them, and I wanted to find a use for them.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

