Finally – A Finished Dress!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I used the princess seam bodice of New Look 6020, and substituted New Look A6843 for a basic flared skirt because I didn’t have enough fabric for the 6 paneled skirt of the dress pattern.  I made a muslin of the bodice and worked on the fit.  I started with a size 14 but ended up with about 1 inch side seam allowance so the sizes must have a lot of ease. I would expect a dress with a zipper to be more fitted.  For the skirt I didn’t put much thought into it and cut out the largest size, and then added 2 small pleats to fit the bodice.  I changed the side zipper of the pattern to an invisible back zipper.  The dress is fully lined.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This first dress is a dress of many firsts:  first time inserting an invisible zipper, sewing princess seams, lining a bodice, and understitching.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I started by reading blogs of knitters who also sewed and thought I wish I could do that.  Then I bought a sewing machine and hardly took it out of  the box for a year.  I had a fear of cutting fabric.  Little by little, I  have started to gain experience and knowledge. This was my fourth item of clothing sewn from scratch, and a big challenge for me.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

A hot day to be outside taking photos!

I’m so glad it’s done before summer’s end.

Leave a Reply

