Learning and Mistakes Along the Way

On the home stretch to finishing my dress, I have had a few problems.  First I put in the 12-14 inch zipper listed on the pattern envelope.  Common sense should have told me it would be too short, and it was.  It was hard unpicking the tiny stitches, but I did a better job putting in the replacement zipper, a 22 inch zipper I shortened to 18 inch.  The first time I caught some of the coils and the zipper couldn’t move.  The second time I ironed the zipper and I manually moved the coils to the side as I sewed.  I bought the Brother invisible zipper foot.  My waist seam didn’t match up on either side of the zipper so more unpicking.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I look at 2 or 3 different tutorials for every technique I need help with.  For my zipper the one I found most helpful was this tutorial:

Installing an invisible zipper from the Colette Patterns website

My favorite instruction on princess seams:

Princess Seams from sew2pro.com

I used these tutorials to figure out how to attach the lining:

All-Machine Clean-Finish Sleeveless Bodice Lining Technique Tutorial from the Slapdash Sewist

How to Line a Sleeveless Dress from E-how

The book, The Perfect Fit, for altering princess seams to fit a full bust.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I didn’t trim my lining properly so I badly needed to understitch.  The part that I wondered about is if you sew through both seam allowances; I came to the conclusion that you do.

A good tutorial is:

Understitching from Sewaholic

I enjoyed using my new rotary pinking blade to finish my seams.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

This one needs grading:

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Oops! or should I say “darn!” (pun intended).  Not a mistake you want to make at this point, but at least my fingers are intact.

All that’s left now is hemming and tacking the lining to the zipper. I’m so ready to be finished!

2 thoughts on “Learning and Mistakes Along the Way

  1. Sew2pro

    Thanks for the mention; I’m glad you found the tute helpful!

    How frustrating to have to do that unpicking: but it’s usually an almost-certain guarantee that you’ll never make the same mistake again…

    Reply
    1. Stitch It Again Post author

      Thank you for the great tutorial! It is so clear and beautifully illustrated. I often have to restitch things when the seams don’t match, but I’ll never put in such a short zipper on a dress again.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

